Is there a limit on number of monitors?

14th - 17:00 16th August 2009
catface
Unter Peon
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby catface » Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:07 pm

Image

DIDAK IS A FUCKING PUSSY BITCH. :D

ps it's not like i get bored and go through all of Lifehacker's workspace show and tell pool on flikr all day.

thingygeoff
n00b
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby thingygeoff » Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:21 pm

I love the way in that last pic there are a billion gazillion screens, yet the chosen method of seating is a shitty folding chair...

...seems a little ironic to me.

Also, lol at Neomancer and no friends :)

User avatar
xconspirisist
Pseudo-jolly-fatman, rapid-post-editor, postman-loather, coffee-induced-murderer, meatball-fanatic, GPS-hater, vapourware-author, executioner-of-flying-bugs, eternal emperor of entirety
Posts: 6182
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 1:04 pm
Battle.net: xcons#2832
steamid: xconspirisist
Location: Hyrule. ▲
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby xconspirisist » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:12 am

That sort of configuration of screens is surely only any good if you can rotate your head a full 360 degrees, rapidly.

catface
Unter Peon
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby catface » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:35 am

xconspirisist wrote:That sort of configuration of screens is surely only any good if you can rotate your head a full 360 degrees, rapidly.


you mean 180

AlienX
Overdraft Admin
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom, Somerset
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby AlienX » Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:55 am

xconspirisist wrote:That sort of configuration of screens is surely only any good if you can rotate your head a full 360 degrees, rapidly.


Be kinda neat if u could use them all on css and turn ur FOV to 180deg, u can see so much more :P lol

User avatar
xconspirisist
Pseudo-jolly-fatman, rapid-post-editor, postman-loather, coffee-induced-murderer, meatball-fanatic, GPS-hater, vapourware-author, executioner-of-flying-bugs, eternal emperor of entirety
Posts: 6182
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 1:04 pm
Battle.net: xcons#2832
steamid: xconspirisist
Location: Hyrule. ▲
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby xconspirisist » Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:12 am

catface wrote:
xconspirisist wrote:That sort of configuration of screens is surely only any good if you can rotate your head a full 360 degrees, rapidly.


you mean 180


No, I mean 360.

User avatar
Neomancer
Resident Sarcasm Master Admin
Posts: 6212
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 11:20 pm
Origin ID: neomancer86
steamid: neomancer86
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby Neomancer » Fri Aug 07, 2009 3:57 pm

owl dna... science can make that happen :)

Guardsmon
1337 Krew
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:10 pm
steamid: guardsmon
Location: Bristol

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby Guardsmon » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:54 pm

thingygeoff - what GPU setup do you have that supports 3x 22" and looks amazing? Or is it just CS:S that it looks great as its an older game? Not trying to insult, just thinking you'll need something like a Xfire setup or a nice sli setup
i7 3770K | Gigabyte H77N-WiFi | 2x4GB Samsung Green DDR1600 | ATI HD 7850 | Lian Li PC-Q11
Image

AlienX
Overdraft Admin
Posts: 2667
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom, Somerset
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby AlienX » Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:07 pm

I beleve its the TripleHead2go (i think its called) device that does the work on the monitors.
Doesnt it just use 1 DVI port from your GPU and split the picture up properly accross 3 screens?

In theory, if u can run at 1 22" okay, u should be able to use triple head okay.

User avatar
no friends
Unter Peon
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby no friends » Sat Aug 08, 2009 8:34 am

Bring it anyway, then i might be inclined to come...

I wanna see it working with LFS though... if you play LFS that is... then i might be tempted to bring my G25.

Oh, you'll need to duck tape the pedals to the floor as they slip n slide everywhere. Also, your monitors will probably fall over on these tables if you have a g25 haha
[02:13] *** * Gooseman and points out that fred is a cock
[02:16] <no_friends> you'd be best at identifying them ;)
[02:16] <Gooseman> it does take one to know one
[02:16] <no_friends> you're the one who fucking said it..
[02:16] <Gooseman> i know
[02:17] <no_friends> .WALKED INTO THAT ONE

Merson
Ban Hammer Admin
Posts: 1893
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:26 pm

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby Merson » Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:54 am

I'm bringing my G25 as well so Jani won't nick it off anyone for the entire lan like last time.

User avatar
no friends
Unter Peon
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby no friends » Mon Aug 10, 2009 10:12 am

I'll bring my G25 then.

So we got 3 g25's coming then? Ace (Y)
[02:13] *** * Gooseman and points out that fred is a cock
[02:16] <no_friends> you'd be best at identifying them ;)
[02:16] <Gooseman> it does take one to know one
[02:16] <no_friends> you're the one who fucking said it..
[02:16] <Gooseman> i know
[02:17] <no_friends> .WALKED INTO THAT ONE

User avatar
Smelly Llama
BIFF
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:10 am
Location: Chard

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby Smelly Llama » Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:52 am

Did someone say Brazilian man?

Also, fitting all those monitors in the car with mine and rhys' massive 24" CRT screens would kill his car!

oh, I'll bring my G25 too :mrgreen:

User avatar
ez64
1337 Krew
Posts: 817
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:10 pm
Location: Wouldnt you like to know
Contact:

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby ez64 » Mon Aug 10, 2009 7:55 pm

Merson wrote:Why have all those monitors? Just bring this instead!

Image
108" monitor ftw



Oh I thought you meant the hot asian girl to stare at, my bad.
In China DHCP leases YOU!
The Bible, Wrath of Khan, what's the difference

I am the Stig!

ImageImage

Gooseman
1337 Krew
Posts: 2529
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:41 pm
steamid: sgoosey
Location: Milton Keynes

Re: Is there a limit on number of monitors?

Postby Gooseman » Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:40 pm

at least noodles moniters make sence, 4 of them each lan, and his normal tv programs on each screen :P


Return to “Saltlan 18”