deus ex 2: Invisible war

Gooseman
1337 Krew
Posts: 2528
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:41 pm
steamid: sgoosey
Location: Milton Keynes

Postby Gooseman » Sat Apr 10, 2004 3:30 pm

im sorry but ive always used windows and dos ive never used linux, and from what i can make out u cant play games on it!

User avatar
neon
Duct Tape Engineer
Posts: 1613
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Exeter, Devon

Postby neon » Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:13 am

there are many games that will run on linux.

Tux Racer makes for good gaming on good machines.
Quake 3 Arena was released for Linux.
There are more games that come with a default install of most Linux Distros than with windows (altho as lame as the windows ones).
Most games have a linux server available even if u can't play the actual game.
im sure there are more, but as I don't play many (if any) games I don't really know of any more.

Linux is designed to be more of a Server Operating System than a general use system, but can be used for those users who don't play many games, like myself.

As soon as I get myself sorted out between uni and home I shall have at least 1 linux server and probably a workstation as well.

User avatar
Neomancer
Resident Sarcasm Master Admin
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 11:20 pm
Origin ID: neomancer86
steamid: neomancer86
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Postby Neomancer » Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:25 am

can you not emulate a windows enviroment on a linux pc, and vice versa?

User avatar
neon
Duct Tape Engineer
Posts: 1613
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Exeter, Devon

Postby neon » Sun Apr 11, 2004 12:54 am

yes, wine for linux to run windows apps, and virtual PC or similiar on windows to run any OS, could be Linux..

altho installing the actual OS as intended properly is always preferable.

User avatar
Neomancer
Resident Sarcasm Master Admin
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 11:20 pm
Origin ID: neomancer86
steamid: neomancer86
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Postby Neomancer » Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:27 am

so technically... you could run win games in a virtual enviroment then?

User avatar
Freelance
1337 Krew
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:35 pm
Origin ID: scratched_uk
Battle.net: scratched#2526
steamid: scratched

Postby Freelance » Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:15 pm

yes, and there are reports of windows games running better through emulation on linux
I adblock smilies.

User avatar
neon
Duct Tape Engineer
Posts: 1613
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 10:35 am
Location: Exeter, Devon

Postby neon » Sun Apr 11, 2004 6:27 pm

that might have something to do with the claim the makers of wine made when they first released it.

Wine was claimed to run windows programs more efficiently on linux than windows. Due to lacking certain HAL layers and other kernel complications.

Ive not used it for years personally.. but it still required some work as not all windows hooks were captured by wine, so on certain apps errors and crashes were frequent.

User avatar
=mini-geezer=
n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:19 pm
Location: Lympstone, Exmouth

Postby =mini-geezer= » Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:27 pm

WINE for Linux is quite unstable apparently. I couldn't even get the bastard to run notepad.
"Roads are just a suggestion, like pants" - Homer Simpson

User avatar
GhostStalker-UK
You Make Kitty Scared
Posts: 464
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 5:40 pm
Location: Devon (home) / Bristol (for Uni)
Contact:

Postby GhostStalker-UK » Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:14 pm

rofl

ahem. I hadnt previously given much thought to Linux as a windows alternative due to software support. But if its getting much better in recent years... If I can be bothered, I might do some research into this. In the meantime:

/me strokes Windows XP Pro

User avatar
Freelance
1337 Krew
Posts: 1609
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 1:35 pm
Origin ID: scratched_uk
Battle.net: scratched#2526
steamid: scratched

Postby Freelance » Sun Apr 11, 2004 9:40 pm

personally i have a nasty case of CBA. i have a mandrake 10 install with one game on it, ut2004 running in software mode because AGP doesn't work which nobbles OpenGL. even when i do get it running i'd still be too lazy to do a comparison. i think the turning point would be when it can run 100% of what windows can do (read: working 3D support)
I adblock smilies.

User avatar
iMess
Your base looks nice, can i have it ?
Posts: 4638
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 7:36 pm
Origin ID: imesx
Battle.net: wewlad
steamid: imess
Location: Taunton

Postby iMess » Sun Apr 11, 2004 10:57 pm

Just use Lindows.
If online bullying has taught us anything. It's that people would sooner hang themselves than lose a bit of weight.

User avatar
Crimez-Z2
Westlan Staff
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 7:03 pm
Location: @ Home

Postby Crimez-Z2 » Mon Apr 12, 2004 12:39 am

i've heard that lindows is still very buggy, yes it work but buggy, i'd stay away for a while until they release newer version with the bugs fixed

Gooseman
1337 Krew
Posts: 2528
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 2:41 pm
steamid: sgoosey
Location: Milton Keynes

Postby Gooseman » Mon Apr 12, 2004 4:45 pm

ive got a version of lindows and i dont understand it, btw neomancer congratulations on getting a positive post count!!

User avatar
Neomancer
Resident Sarcasm Master Admin
Posts: 6207
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 11:20 pm
Origin ID: neomancer86
steamid: neomancer86
Location: Exeter
Contact:

Postby Neomancer » Tue Apr 13, 2004 9:35 am

;)


Return to “General Chat Archives”